To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting. [e.e. cummings]

If this blog is to be my true voice, it’s important that I never stop fighting to be myself.  An important part of that is to take a very warts-and-all approach to letting you into my life.

I am seeking a meaningful life, but I don’t have all the answers.

Re-read that if you wish, because I’m not likely to ever say it again.

Even more than not having all the answers, I have often let myself lose sight of the few that I once held so dear.  In college, I thought that the world would open like a flower as I stepped out into it; I fervently believed I could and would leave my mark.  Needless to say, as I sit here now, I don’t feel that I have.

But after a long journey through very dark times, I believe again that I will.  And I’m starting now.  Well, I started a couple of years ago when I began the arduous task of intense self-exploration.  In that time, I reclaimed my favorite childhood legend and created this blog.  Now I am going to explore the legend (and why it means so much to me) more closely in a series of posts on the virtues I am trying to open myself up to and embody more on a daily basis.

While you’re waiting (on baited breath, no doubt) for my posts, check out this one on the Top 10 Ways to Start Living a More Meaningful Life, especially if you agree that “too many of us live like goldfish, swimming in the same orbit day in and day out feeling uninspired, tired, bored and sometimes worse.”

I will let you find your own highlights, but this was mine: Make an effort to release the negative aspects of your past.  Try not to be imprisoned by your past.  Do not define yourself by your past.

 

It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are. 
~e.e. cummings
Leave a Reply

